New World SummitBerlin
4-5 May 2012
Sophiensaele, Berlin, Germany

The first edition of the New World Summit on May 4 and 5, 2012, in the Sophiensaele in Berlin hosted four political and three juridical
representatives of organizations placed on so-called international designated terrorist lists. During the first day entitled “Reflec­tions on the Closed Society,” these representatives spoke about the histories of their organizations, their political goals, and their confrontation with the “limits” of democracy by being classified as “terrorist.”

During the second day entitled “Proposals for the Open Society,” the representatives were asked about their proposals for political reforms of the political systems currently making use of terrorist lists before being questioned during the rest of the day by the audience on their political viewpoints and its consequences. The first half of the day the lawyers debated

  1. the juridical grounds for terrorist organizations;
  2. more consequent measures for applying the rule of law; and
  3. con­crete proposals for law reform.

The second half of the day, the political representatives debated

  1. the question of legitimacy of a state organized on the principle of self-determination;
  2. the legitimacy of armed struggle in pursuit of self-determination; and
  3. concrete proposals for democratic reform.

Fadile Yildirim (kurdish Women’s Movement) at New World Summit – Berlin (2012)

Moussa Ag Assarid

The Tuareg People’s Right to Self-Determination

Louis Jalandoni

The Political Underground in the Philippines

Jon Andoni Lekue

Negotiating the Basque’s People Right To Self-Determination

Fadile Yildirim

Women and Democracy: the Kurdish Question and Beyond

Jonas Staal

Nancy Hollander

Representing the Holy Land Foundation

Victor Koppe

Representing the Tamil Tigers

Linda Moreno

Representing Sami Al Arian

-Political representatives

Moussa Ag Assarid > National Liberation Movement of Azawad

Louis Jalandoni > National Democratic Front of the Philippines

Jon Andoni Lekue > Basque Independence Movement

Fadile Yildirim > Kurdish Women's Movement

-Legal representatives

Nancy Hollander

Victor Koppe

Linda Moreno


Robert Kluijver


Jonas Staal